Just Look Up and Start A New Life

Taking your first step has its own reservations. You contemplate the move, wonder about the implications, and often get scared of the possibilities. But to get that step forward, all you have to do is just look up and stand firm. I had a similar incident in my life, which saw my falling down, and then looking up to better opportunities.

It was a few years ago. 2010 to be precise. I had given my class twelfth CBSE Board exams, and I struggled through it all. I had taken up science, much against my heart’s wish. I thought science would sort my life, and I couldn’t have been more wrong. Eventually the results brought the news, much worse than expected. I was shattered, not much for myself but for letting others down, my parents specifically.

The environment at my home has always been encouraging and positive. My house gives me that positive vibe to keep my sail floating. My parents supported my throughout. It was a crucial moment of discovery, of self and others around me. It was time to start a new life.

To start a new life you need to lose all the baggage of the past. I wasn’t able to do that. The Indian system of education and the concern of relatives didn’t let me do that. I was reminded of my performance time and again. I was shamed for the poor performance, and ridiculed for not living up to the expectations. I felt dark and hopeless.

There had to be something which I needed to latch on, to survive and turn it around. That was my family, and their motivation. I was counseled, and motivated to follow my heart. I filled up English Literature and got through one of the best colleges in the country. The college years then were smooth, because my heart was there.  I enjoyed the course, I relished the time I had.

The enjoyment, the happiness and the smile were much more accentuated by the fact that this is after a struggle. It was a mark of my achievement, something I could be proud of, something my parents were proud of. Later, I followed English with journalism for a newer part of life and got through the best journalism college in the country. Now I am graduating with a few job offers in hand. This is a great feeling. This feels like fate had already planned it out for me.

Life can look so disjunctive at some moments, only to fall together at a later time. It’s never too late to take control of your life and to start over. I will be soon starting a new life in the professional world and it would be another opportunity to start a new life. I am happily looking up.

 

Cover image credits: Facebook.com/housing.com

Leave a Reply

