Picture Post-Mortem: FAN

“Fan needs to work”, an average Indian melting in the heat and Shah Rukh Khan may have similar sentiments at the moment. It’s a crucial film indeed.

FAN, directed by Maneesh Sharma, tells the story of a Bollywood star and his besotted fan. Quite intriguing. And after playing with fire with a few forgettable films in the past couple of years, this was supposed to be SRK’s agnipariksha. The heat was definitely on, because this film claims to have a story, at least.

FAN is about the journey of a Delhi-based SRK, who falls in love with the Mumbai-based SRK. Delhi-based SRK is obviously the gareeb fan, Gaurav, while the Mumbai wala SRK Aryan, is a rich superstar. Gaurav wins a local competition and gets a prize which he dedicates to Aryan. But he wants to show the prize to Aryan this time, so off he goes to Bombay. But mila ghanta, like, obviously.

The characters are strong in the movie, and you fight this internal battle of choosing a side to root for. But you simply cannot, because both sides have their weakness, their draws, their flaws. The movie is just Shah Rukh Khan in all his classic grandeur, and there are two versions of him.

So this hurt ego clashes with the glazed arrogance, and off they go to foreign locales. Why? Because hamari-story-pe-kaddu-fark-padta-hai-but-producer-YashRaj-hai-to-paisa. And the film starts to lose grip here after. With complicated and illogical chase and fight and over-the-top drama, you wonder if the interval was an exit in disguise?

The second half of the movie put me off personally, as I was looking for a conclusion. I related to the individual characters and wanted a sense of closure for them. Devoid of which, I felt incomplete after sitting through this unnecessarily long film. Rakhi Sawant was probably right when she said ‘Fan is dangerous’.

Will I watch it again? I shall prefer to wait for Raees to see SRK again. Fingers crossed.

––––

Post Script — My Fan moment

A few moments in FAN just felt like a cinematic reflection of my life. Here’s a personal account.

I am a huge fan of Shah Rukh Khan. As a kid, I remember throwing my jacket in air, ‘just like Shah Rukh did in Deewana’. Then as I grew up with his movies, I took every chance and contest to be able to meet him. A few opportunities came but somehow slipped through. In an event, around 4-5 years back, I had to run because the crowd got uncontrollable even before Shah Rukh arrived, and hence the police lathi-charged.

Then I finally met him in 2012. Cried as I saw him. Went speechless when given a chance to talk to him. And hugged him to never let go. It was living a dream. It was an achievement.

I am a huge fan of Shah Rukh Khan. As a kid, I remember throwing my jacket in air, ‘just like Shah Rukh did in Deewana’. Then as I grew up with his movies, I took every chance and contest to be able to meet him. A few opportunities came but somehow slipped through. In an event, around 4-5 years back, I had to run because the crowd got uncontrollable even before Shah Rukh arrived, and hence the police lathi-charged.

Then I met him in 2012. Cried as I saw him. Went speechless when given a chance to talk to him. And hugged him to never let go. It was living a dream. It was an achievement.

Always a Jabra fan.

3 thoughts on “Picture Post-Mortem: FAN

    1. Oh hey. Sorry. Just saw the comment. Btw my loyalties kept shifting throughout the movie. And therefore I felt both the characters should have reached their conclusion 😦

Leave a Reply

